Through THICK OR THIN

What never fails to make you smile? What’s your best memory? Now how about your worst?

If you’re a Mom I’m sure those answers most likely include your son or daughter. The good ones probably include those sweet moments of unsolicited reciprocation of your love, shared laughter and celebrations that are cemented into your memory. But we all know it’s not all smiles and sweetness. Good Moms give tough love. We say “NO” and we have high expectations. It’s not always fun and definitely not easy, but we do as we must out of love. So here’s a shout out to the Moms out there that don’t react to tantrums, to those that say NO when its easier to give in, and to those that are continuously trying new things to motivate and encourage their children in every way. You guys kick ass.

I aspire to be this Mom but it isn’t as easy as it sounds. I know I was NOT the easiest child and I’m sure I have it coming back to me three-fold. Luckily I have a great role model that loved me through my ornery youth stages. Thanks Ma, for all you’ve done and always being a phone call away whenever I need you!

I’m also exceptionally grateful I have Jono because as you will see, tonight was yet another reminder of how challenging being a Mom would be without him by my side. With that said, my gratitude to his mother must be noted. Thanks for raising the man of my dreams, a dedicated husband and father, who I’m sure was not a bit of trouble growing up πŸ™‚

And I leave you with a few photos from my first Mother & Son Date Knight, courtesy of Chic-Fil-A. These are the happy snapshots after the grumbles of Liam not wanting to go because he already ate dinner with his Dad and before wrestling went too far and became wailing and biting in front of 8 other parents while I went to get the ice cream and of course the cherry on top, Camden spitting on me when he didn’t get his way. Liam ended up eating more of Camden’s meal than Cam did. I got more kisses and apologies from Cam than I can count. Also, the boys were both dubbed knights by the Chic-Fil-A cow himself, vowing to honor thy parents and protect thy family, etc. They both presented me with a red rose and answered all my round table questions on our mom conversation starter guide. There WERE moments to cherish forever and others I hope to soon forget, but I’m grateful to have both Liam & Camden in my life through think or thin.

20130511-215857.jpg

20130511-215910.jpg

20130511-215921.jpg

One thought on “Through THICK OR THIN

  1. Don’t know where we would be without you. You are a darn good mama yourself. Guess those positive role mamas rubbed off on ya a little. Love you.

Leave a Reply

